FORGIVENESS


I have felt the same way about forgiveness my whole life. Forgiveness as far as I know is a Christian concept, a concept first introduced in the Bible, a concept of god’s. God forgives all sins and sinners; which in my mind kind of negates or at least means Jesus died in vain. God forgives all sins, priests offer absolution, one may buy indulgences; there are multiple ways to be forgiven for your sins. The reason god forgives sins is because if he didn’t heaven would be empty, we are all born sinners remember? This makes it inevitable that we will sin. But there is a reason god forgives us, what is the reason we are to forgive each other? If I am not mistaken scripture or at least church doctrine says that only god can forgive our sins.

So why do people feel the need, desire or the importance of forgiveness? Yes this is prompted by the shooting in North Carolina of the 9 black people in a church prayer group by an angry white kid who killed motivated by racism. The community in which these people lived and the congregation of the church as well as church going family members are already forgiving the shooter. I see this all the time. I even see it in my personal life from even atheist friends who forgive those that have raped, molested, beaten, lied and betrayed them. Some admit that forgiving is more for themselves than those they forgive and there is a part of me that understands that need to let things go so you can move on. But letting go and forgiving to me are two different things. Forgiving makes things okay, well that being the point making things okay so you can move on also makes it okay for the person who hurt you so they can move on as well. If they move on, move past or get over what they did doesn’t that make it like it never happened? Doesn’t that make is so it doesn’t matter? Doesn’t that mean they will do it again and that no one is held responsible for what they did? Sometimes anger is a good thing, a useful thing, a motivating thing. Anger makes sure that no one forgets these crimes, for it is the doom of men that they forget. Forgetting is a surety it will happen again and again and again. I will never forgive my rapist, nor will I ever forgive my ex abusive husband for all the beatings he gave me. To I wallow in the past no, do I remember the past and make sure that others know the past yes. Am I angry about what happened all these years later no, but I am angry at those who wronged me all these years later. My anger doesn’t exist at the forefront of my daily life but don’t ever doubt it is in there, some where.

This shooting in North Carolina should not be made to be okay by anyone. Especially before the shooter has been punished for his crimes. And I gotta say this………9 black older people in a prayer group, one young white kid comes in and sits down at the table….no one for a minute wondered what the hell he was doing there? Just sayin……

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 843 other followers

Post Calendar

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
