Reading Bible Stories As Fairy Tales


Some atheists, secular and non-believers struggle with the dilemma of whether or not to read or expose their children to the bible. I was raised by an atheist father and non church attending Methodist mother who took us to Sunday school so we could learn about the bible to help us one day decide for ourselves on matters of religion. (I wasn’t baptized). However, as much as I am thankful for my awesome parents for their decision to raise me that way, I did learn about the bible as being holy and to be god’s words. Because children of religious people are raised that the bible is the sacred undisputed word of god when they grow up they very often fear doubting this book even if their common sense tells them to. I raised my kids in a secular atmosphere and read the bible to them often and as a book to be taken seriously while pointing out it’s contradictions and flaws, most of which they saw for themselves and didn’t really need me to show it to them. I am now a grandmother of boys being raised without religion in secular homes. I have decided that I am going to read the bible to them also but not in the same way as I did my own kids. I am going to read it to them as fairy tales just like Mother Goose, The Brother’s Grimm or Aesop’s Fables. I think if they are raised hearing biblical stories as fairy tales they will never consider taking the bible seriously! Biblical stories are as silly and fantastical as fairy tales and mythological stories so why not?

One response to “Reading Bible Stories As Fairy Tales

  1. Pingback: Reading Bible Stories As Fairy Tales | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 843 other followers

Post Calendar

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
