Domestic Violence is a Man Problem – Are we man enough to do something about it?


An inspirational man…

writeROBwrite

I hear that October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month. I’m glad the old white men who decide these things set aside a month to think about it, so that we don’t have to ALL the time.

Being a dude myself, I don’t really know the best way to approach the conversation, so I’ll tell a story. I was around 10 or 11, or 12 or 13 – I don’t exactly know why, but almost every memory from my childhood is blurred together and I always say I was 12.

Anyhow, my dad had fallen on tough times, he was on crack, and we had a lot of crack heads in our house, including this woman Elaine and her four kids. There were two younger boys, I don’t remember their names. There was a daughter, Debra, who was the same age as me. Then also she had a son Chris who was…

View original post 1,146 more words

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 845 other followers

Post Calendar

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
