Pet Peeve no. 1 The use of B.C. and A.D.


Don’t let my title mislead you, this is not my number one pet peeve, as far as my pet peeve posts it is the first one.

It’s wrong! Legally, around the world it is now B.C.E for Before Common Era and C.E. for Common Era.

It was changed for what I think were obvious reasons…the world has MANY religions besides Christianity. B.C. is for Before Christ and A.D. is for Anno Domini or The year of our Lord, meaning of course Jesus Christ.

Okay, my pet peeve is that B.C. and A.D. are constantly used by institutions and individuals, educational institutions as well as legal institutions as well as authors, reputable historians and college professors. The history channel airs documentaries that do this all the time. The history channel’s shows are always making this mistake. I don’t mean books, lectures or scripts that were written prior to this change, I mean new stuff, as new as yesterday. Shouldn’t universities, textbooks at all levels, legal documents and historians get it right?

It really irritates me.

4 responses to “Pet Peeve no. 1 The use of B.C. and A.D.

  1. Fantastically revealing cheers, I do believe your trusty audience might likely want far a lot more reviews like this keep on the outstanding work.

    Like

  2. I discovered your blog web page on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the quite superior operate. I just extra up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Searching for forward to reading far more from you later on!

    NFL Throwback Jerseys

    Like

  3. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted at
    this web site is in fact nice.

    Like

  4. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time as you amend your website,
    how can i subscribe for a weblog website? The account
    aided me a applicable deal. I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered brilliant transparent concept

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 843 other followers

Post Calendar

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
