American Experience: The Trials of J Robert Oppenheimer


Directed by David Grubin.

With Harold Agnew, Jeremy Bernstein, Robert Christy, Michael Cumpsty.

 David Straithairn as J Robert Oppenheimer

Narrated by Campbell Scott.

Having grown up in Los Alamos I am very knowledgeable of it’s history. Oppie, as we locals call him, is not only the father of the Atomic Bomb but he is the Father of Los Alamos. In other words I am extremely critical of all books, movies and especially documentaries on any of these subjects.

I wasn’t that keen on having an actor playing J Robert Oppenheimer but saw some reason for the choice of the film makers to do so. Because transcripts from the original trial were available presenting Oppies ‘points of view, feelings and testimony in play form worked.

It gives Oppies personal as well as professional history. Lots of details and photos.

This as I saw it was presented in a kind of defense of Oppenheimer. His side of the story. I was inspired when this film shed light on the ugly side of President Truman, the petty obvious dislike of Strauss for Oppie, the persuaded The Atomic Energy Commission, the egotistical mission for revenge by Edward Teller and the  witch hunt for commies conducted by our government.

The interviews conducted were with credible people whom I knew as Los Alamos residents, authors of books about Los Alamos and Oppenheimer which won my confidence in the information presented.  I have watched it more than a several time and often refer to it for tidbits of information. It gave me some new research directions. I walked away vindicated, satisfied, proud and made this mandatory for my teenage daughter who felt for J Robert Oppenheimer and had a new kind of respect for the man and the scientist.

 I give it 5 stars. Excellent

28 responses to “American Experience: The Trials of J Robert Oppenheimer

  1. Surprisingly challenging many thanks, I do believe your trusty subscribers could perhaps want even more stories such as this keep up the terrific operate.

    Like

  2. YyVdHV This is one awesome article. Awesome.

    Like

  3. fora internetowe

    Magnificent! Keep leading this blog.

    Like

  4. I will start writing my own blog, definitely!

    Like

  5. If there could be more such blogs.

    Like

  6. I’m impressed by this blog.

    Like

  7. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

  8. You’ve got a fantastic site here! would you like to make some invite posts on my weblog?

    Like

  9. Due to this blog I was able to open my mind.

    Like

  10. Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my blog thus i came to “return the choose”.I am attempting to in finding issues to enhance my website!I assume its ok to make use of some of your concepts!!

    Like

  11. Dead written articles, Really enjoyed reading through.

    Like

  12. Whats up are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you need any coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

    Like

  13. I am John, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this web site is in fact nice.

    Like

  14. Nice Site , guys! Rewarding Infos aswell. I bookmarked your site

    Like

  15. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

    Like

  16. I do enjoy the way you have presented this matter and it does indeed provide me personally a lot of fodder for consideration. On the other hand, coming from what I have personally seen, I basically trust when the actual remarks pile on that folks stay on issue and in no way embark upon a soap box of the news du jour. Still, thank you for this outstanding point and though I can not necessarily go along with this in totality, I regard your perspective.

    Like

  17. Superb blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Bless you!

    Like

  18. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a very good job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Internet explorer. Outstanding Blog!

    Like

  19. I like your fantastic web website, I had been searching for this all over.br /best regards

    Like

  20. I like the helpful facts you present in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check out once again right here frequently. I’m rather certain I will learn several new stuff suitable listed here! Very best of luck for your upcoming!

    Like

  21. I am getting the Internet seriously now. I’m retired and can dive into it. I’m able to see that you can find a rich diversity within the weblogs I’m studying and I am hoping to go away some remark whereever I go to. I think you really have to put some attention over a web site to provide it higher than the dry and unexciting verbage that is common, and you’ve got definitely accomplished that. I not only browse and comment about the blogs of some others but I now have my very own site and my own web page. I have incuded a website and email deal with. Is that this acceptable? I really hope this is allright. TheVeryBest2You thirteen 14

    Like

  22. I’ve said that least 2926083 times. SCK was here

    Like

  23. I regard something genuinely special in this website .

    Like

  24. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 843 other followers

Post Calendar

May 2012
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
