Constantines Sword


By James Carroll

This documentary blew me away. It is the most informative and comprehensive presentation and well researched I have seen. Masterfully presented with such conviction that I felt a pit in my stomach like I was at an exhibit in the National Holocaust Museum in Washington DC, which I visited with my daughter in 2010. I have studied the history of the Catholic Church and Jewish history including Hitler for 20 years. Reading anything and everything I can get my hands on. But Carroll taught me something new from a unique point of view. His remarkable life. I don’t question his integrity, sincerity, or his information. I am prompted to learn more of what he opened my eyes too. That in my opinion is what a good documentary does.

(Source Wikipedia) Carroll was born in Chicago, the second of five sons of late Air Force General Joseph Carroll, and his wife Mary.  At the time, his father was a Special Agent of the FBI which he remained until being seconded to, and later commissioned by, the US Air Force as an Intelligence Officer in 1948.  After this, Carroll was raised in the Washington, D.C. area and in Germany.  He was educated at Washington’s Priory School and at an American high school, the H. H. Arnold, in Wiesbaden, Germany.  He attended Georgetown University before entering St. Paul’s College, the Paulist Fathers’ seminary, where he received his B.A. and M.A. degrees.

He was ordained to the priesthood in 1969.  Carroll served as Catholic chaplain at Boston University from 1969 to 1974.  During that time, he studied poetry with George Starbuck and published books on religious subjects and a book of poems.  He was also a columnist for the National Catholic Reporter (1972–1975) and was named Best Columnist by the Catholic Press Association.  For his writing on religion and politics he received the first Thomas Merton Award from Pittsburgh’s Thomas Merton Center in 1972.  Carroll left the priesthood in 1974 to become a writer, and, in the same year, was a playwright-in-residence at the Berkshire Theater Festival.

I give this 5 stars.

Available on Netflix

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 843 other followers

Post Calendar

May 2012
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
